Hey guys!

Sorry for being MIA lately. I really don’t have an excuse , except for the fact that I’ve been terribly lazy and lacking any sort of motivation.I also didn’t want to write just for the sake of getting something up on the blog , so I took some time off.Anywho, I’m back and this time I thought I’d take you through my makeup bag .

Despite being obsessed with beauty gurus and the makeup products they rave about, I don’t really have that much makeup.I guess I’m just cheap when it comes to makeup and only really buy stuff  when I feel the need .Also, most of  my makeup is from the drugstore , so if you’re looking for some recommendations then you’re in the right place. Today, I’ll take you through my foundations, concealer and powders.

  1. Foundation/Tinted moisturiser
  • Tinted Moisturiser:

I opt for a bb/cc cream on a day to day basis because I think that for an everyday no makeup makeup look it is the best choice .You can barely tell that it’s there but it also get the job done( if you have relatively good skin).I’ve tried the Maybelline bb cream in the past and thought it didn’t have any coverage at all.Though I know that tinted moisturisers/such creams are meant to have only very little coverage, I prefer ones that are a little more buildable.The one I’ve been loving lately is one that was recommended by Pixiwoos ( on youtube ), it has light – medium coverage and you can build it up as well.

  •  Bourjois 123 CC cream :
61cT7P7mpyL._SY679_
Image courtesy:  makeupalley.com

Pros:

  • Good coverage
  • Lasts long
  • Not too cakey

Cons:

  • Still not perfectly suited for my terribly dry skin
  • Limited shades
  • It’s RS.2200 (i think) not as cheap as I would except a drugstore cc cream to be

How I use it:

To prevent the cc cream from clinging to my dry patches  I apply coconut oil prior to applying the  cream.

It comes in four shades (ivory, light beige, rose beige ,bronze) and I went for light beige(second lightest) and I’m pretty sure it’s a little light for my skin tone but I just work with it and since the shade above it was much too orange. I normally mix it with a moisturizer or bronze my face a little so  the difference isn’t too apparent.

Would I recommend it ?

Sure, I think if you’re skin is not too dry then definitely give it a go , it’s a good’un .

  • Foundation:

I only very recently tried a foundation for the first time, I’ve always been too afraid of looking like a cakeface (lol) , but the one I ended up trying is the Inglot YSM cream foundation which is supposed to be their light weight , long lasting, matte finish , natural looking foundation (man,that was a mouthful!)

  • Inglot YSM cream foundation:
ysm cream
Image courtesy: inglotcosmetics.com

 

Pros :

  • Nice shade range (mine seems pretty well suited for me)
  • Good coverage( I’d say medium)
  • Lasted as long as I wore it (so can’t say long lasting for sure, but it does seem promising)

Cons:

  • Drying (obviously because of the mattifying formula)
  • Can’t apply under eyes ( I don’t wear concealer all the time so the fact that you have to with this foundation kind of puts me off)

How i use it ?

Well , the first time i tried it , i found that i clung to the dry patches on my face and made them even more obvious. So the next time i applied it , i moisturised my face with coconut oil beforehand and that certainly made a huge difference. I don’t know, however, if it effects the longevity of the foundation because oil breaks down makeup :/ I think it would be best to let it sit for a while and then apply the foundation.

Would I recommend?

It’s available in 26 different shades, which I think is great and there are quite a few for brown skin so yay!I do think that if you have dry skin, definitely stay away from this one because I find it really unflattering on my skin without the coconut oil, but if you feel that you can work around it and you want a good coverage but light weight foundation , I think this might be a great option for too and it won’t break the bank either(It’s around RS 2000).

     2.Concealers:

I was never really into concealers , till I noticed that my awful eye bags really good do with some covering up. I would really like to get rid of them completely but I don’t think I’m ready to give up watching youtube videos past bed time, just as yet.The only concealer I’ve ever tried is the Inglot under eye concealer and I’m not too crazy about it , it isn’ too bad either , it’s just kind of meh ! Nothing special.

  • Inglot under eye concealer :

 

concealer.png
Image courtesy: inglotcosmetics.com

 

Pros:

  • Doesn’t crease
  • Not drying
  • Easily blendable

Cons:

  • Not long lasting
  • Coverage isn’t great

How I use it ?

Well, first of all , the shade i picked up isn’t at all suited for me. And if I do wear it I have to really make an effort to prevent it from giving me the dreaded half moons.I usually apply face powder on top , in order to set it in place but still it is the first to go when my makeup starts melting away.

Would I recommend it?

I actually heard another beauty guru raving about it but personaly I wouldn’t recommend it.The shade range isn’t too bad but I feel like the product itself isn’t worth it because if it doesn’t keep the under eyes covered all day , why make all the effort?

         3.Face powder:

Okay, here’s a product that’s been in my makeup bag for wayyyyy toooo long. Seriously! I’m sure it would give someone who believes in makeup expiration dates a heart attack because i’ve probably had it gor a couple of years now. Ewww , i know.I think I’m going to swap it out for the Maybelline master fix or the much raved about rimmel stay matte.

The one I’m currently using is the L’Oreal Infallible creamy powder foundation.

  • L’Oreal Infallible creamy powder foundation:
3600521441251_2
Image courtesy: redsquare.co.za

Pros:

  • Good coverage
  • Doesn’t cling too much to dry areas
  • Goes on smooth and fine

Cons:

  • Can’t be used on its own on dry skin (that’s the case for most powder foundations really , so not too big a deal )
  • When applied under the eyes , can emphasise creases and wrinkles .

How i use it:

I apply it very lightly all over my face, after I’m done with my foundation, just to prevent oiliness , especially with the coconut oil base. I add a little extra under my eyes and on my eye lids because that’s the oiliest part of my face.

Would I recommend it ?

Well, given the fact that I’ve been using it for years, of course I’ll recommend it.I think it’s a great powder for setting your makeup or applying on it’s own since it’s very fine and doesn’t get too cakey but if i were you i’d be careful with how much i apply if your skin is dry.

 

If you  enjoyed this post then look out for the next one, in which I’ll talk about my eye shadows , blushers and highlights. J

Love Always,M

 

 

